MLB Center

Pro Baseball Home

About Pro Baseball Fans

MLB Standings

Baseball Fatheads

Baseball Merchandise

Baseball Tickets

MLB Credit Cards

MLB Team Pages

Baseball Park Reviews

Baseball News Articles

Fantasy Baseball Tips

Minor League Baseball

Baseball Fan Sites

MLB Team Correspondents

MLB Writing Jobs

Voters to Dopers No Hall of Fame for You

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America decline to vote any players into the Baseball Hall of Fame


It’s a glaring comment on the steroid era of major league baseball and a strong one at that. On Wednesday it was announced that for just the second time in four decades there will be no players inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown this year. The Baseball Writers’ Association of America declined induction to several candidates that were up for their first time, and they include Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Sammy Sosa, three players who have become synonymous with the steroid era.

Clemens received a reported 37.6 percent of the vote while Bonds received 36.2, Sosa received only 12.5, all were far below the 75 percent required for induction into the hallowed halls of Cooperstown. Bonds is the all-time home run leader, Clemens is baseball’s only seven-time CY Young winner and is considered one of the best pitchers to ever play in the game and Sosa is eighth on the all-time home runs list and under normal circumstances all three would be first-time shoe-ins for induction. However all three have been accused of doping by multiple sources and came from an era of the game where such practices are believed to have been rampant and more-or-less acceptable in most of the clubhouses throughout MLB. The three men have 14 more years of eligibility to be elected to baseball’s highest possible honor.

There were other players who were eligible for induction this year, and Craig Biggio fell just short with 68.2 percent of 569 ballots that were cast. Other players who were in their first-year of eligibility were Mike Piazza (57.8 %) and Curt Schilling (38.8 %). Jack Morris, who has only one year of eligibility left, received 67.7 percent of the vote and former National League MVP Dale Murphy received just 18.6 percent in his 15 th and final year of eligibility. Former St. Louis Cardinals slugger Mark McGwire received 16.9 percent on his seventh try, and this marks the third straight year that the percentage of votes for him has gone down. Rafael Palmeiro also saw his votes decline in his third year of eligibility, getting just 8.8 percent, down from 12.6 last season.


Robert Gonzalez Staff Writer